Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?



Submitted by Arie van der Graaf on 2016-11-19
The 2016 European Blues Awards Winners

The European Blues Awards announced its winners for the 2016 Awards.

The European Blues Awards were originally called the Trans European Blues & Jazz Awards and were started by Dietrich Muller and Tall Boy Wilder in 1981. The awards remain totally independent and free from sponsorship.
Now in their 36th year the awards are purely the choice of a colossal week long public vote that makes it the biggest independent genre accolade outside the USA.

There are 10 categories in the process; nine of which are under public vote along with an annual Lifetime Contribution recognition that is made by the European Blues Awards team.
Overall it was a very successful year for North America as United States and Canadian acts took the honours in 5 of the 9 votes.
Award rules mean that anyone performing live in Europe during qualifying period is eligible.
The Netherlands ran a close second with wins for Best Musician, Festival and Publication.
Here is the full list of Winners in the European Blues Awards 2016:

Best Album – Fire on the Floor – Beth Hart (USA)
Best Band – Tedeschi Trucks Band (USA)
Best Guitarist – Ryan McGarvey (USA)
Best Festival – Ribs en Blues (NL)
Best Vocalist – Layla Zoe (Canada)
Best Radio Show – Paul Jones Radio 2 Blues Show (GB)
Best Publication – Blues Magazine (NL)
Best Solo/Acoustic – Matt Andersen (Canada)
Best Musician (Performance) – Julian Sas (NL)
Lifetime Contribution Award – Pete Feenstra (GB)
Source: P.I.M.P.


Melodic Net Comments