Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?



Submitted by Kaj Roth on 2005-02-24
Wallflowers Ready "Rebel" Return

After more than three years away, the Wallflowers are plotting a May 24 return with the Interscope set "Rebel, Sweetheart." The Jakob Dylan-led act?s fifth album will be preceded in mid-March by the radio single "The Beautiful Side of Somewhere."

"Rebel, Sweetheart" will be the first full album featuring drummer Fred Eltringham, who joined the band two years ago. Rounded out by keyboardist Rami Jaffee and bassist Greg Richling, the group toured last summer with producer Brendan O?Brien (Bruce Springsteen, Pearl Jam) on lead guitar.

That lineup made its recorded debut contributing a cover of "Lawyers, Guns and Money" to last year?s Warren Zevon tribute disc, "Enjoy Every Sandwich" (Artemis).

"Rebel, Sweetheart" was recorded relatively quickly during summer and fall sessions at O?Brien?s Southern Tracks Studios in Atlanta. Among the intriguing titles on the 11-track set are "God Says Nothing Back," "Nearly Beloved" and "Here He Comes (Confessions of a Drunken Marionette)"

The Wallflowers intend to embark on an extensive tour coinciding with the album?s release. They?ll offer a preview with a March 19 appearance at the Esquire Magazine party during Austin, Texas? South by Southwest Music Festival.

Here is the "Rebel, Sweetheart" track list:

"Days of Wonder"
"The Passenger"
"The Beautiful Side of Somewhere"
"Here He Comes (Confessions of a Drunken Marionette)"
"We?re Already There"
"God Says Nothing Back"
"Back to California"
"I Am a Building"
"From the Bottom of My Heart"
"Nearly Beloved"
"How Far You?ve Come"
"All Things New Again"


Melodic Net Comments