Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Marilyn Manson - Born Villain

Reviewer :
Henrik Holmgren Format: Album
Release date: 2012-04-27 Year: 2012
Label: Playground Music
Genre: Industrial
Producer: Marilyn Manson, Chris Vrenna
Artist discography


Born Villain is the much talked about new album by Marilyn Manson. It was preceded by first single No Reflection which was a decent track and if you like that song you will find more to like on this album. By rumor, this was supposed to be Manson’s heaviest album to date but from what I can tell, it is not. I get an almost Rammstein-light feeling when listening to the album.

There are some goods songs on here, but sadly they are few and far between. I like the pumping bass line in The Gardner and Slo-mo-tion is a decent song as well. But the tempo is far too low for my liking and that is a general problem on this album. Lay Down Your Goddamn Arms is another song I kind of like, it is a bit heavier than the rest of the songs on the album. One cool detail is that Johnny Depp makes a guest appearance as a guitarist on bonus cover song You’re So Vain

It never gets dangerous and it never gets shocking, especially not like the old Manson. If nothing I get almost bored after some songs that sound very similar to each other. Nah, this is neither very controversial nor exciting. Second to last song, Breaking the Same Old Ground, actually sums up the album quite nicely. But hey, if you’re a fan you might want to investigate. Better luck next time Mr. Manson.

Tracklisting 1. Hey, Cruel World
2. No Reflection
3. Pistol Whipped
4. Overneath the Path of Misery
5. Slo-mo-tion
6. The Gardener
7. The Flowers of Evil
8. Children of Cain
9. Disengaged
10. Lay Down Your Goddamn Arms
11. Murderers Are Getting Prettier Every Day
12. Born Villain
13. Breaking the Same Old Ground
14. You're So Vain


Melodic Net Comments 

listen on spotify