Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Thomas Darelid - Rhythms of the heart

Ola Gränshagen Format: Album
Year: 1994
Label: Musik/Musik
Genre: Jazz
Producer: Thomas Darelid
Artist discography


He is something of a musical genius, keyboardist THOMAS DARELID. So maybe it’s no wonder he later became the conductor, or bandmaster if you will, of large and famous orchestras in Sweden.

This CD has become rather hard to find, but if you’re into soft jazz/fusion it is well worth a fight for it. Apparently the idea behind the album came from drummers and percussionists playing live together in the studio. It is the 2nd solo album by Darelid after his debut “10 sånger utan sång” (1992, Musik/Musik).

There are eleven songs and the album hits off with a truly soft and quite DAVID FOSTER and DAVID BENOIT spiced piece called “Land of innocence”. The arrangements is awesome and has some lovely twists. Darelid plays piano in such a sensitive way at times, it is fantastic. This is shown in the two pieces “Lina” and “In her garden”, which are done with only the piano and lovely playing. Real fusion can be found in “Vienna Foxtrot”, with vibes from YELLOWJACKETS. The song has got a cool beat. Also “Three years of a miracle” is cool, with both SPYRO GYRA hints and also a touch of TRIBAL TECH where the arrangement is extra complex.

Darelid plays both piano, Rhodes, Mini Moog “etceteras” so you get the full spectra on the keyboard side. His comrades accompanying him are none other than PER LINDVALL (drums, percussion), ANDERS KJELLBERG (drums, percussion), LARS DANIELSSON (bass), BENGT BLOMGREN (guitar), PER HOVENSJÖ (acoustic guitar), BJÖRN BOHLIN (oboe, english horn), URBAN CLAESSON (clarinets), SVEN FRIDOLFSSON (sax, flute) and JANNE BJERGER (trumpet, flugelhorn).

Funny how life can be. I was googling a bit when writing this review, and all of a sudden found out that Darelid released another solo album in 2017 entitled “Point of life”. It’s listenable at Spotify and offers a slightly more jazz oriented style. (Swedish Diamonds series, #22)

Tracklisting 1. Land of innocence*

2. Her first Summer*

3. Lina

4. Three years of a miracle*

5. Uncle Remus*

6. Dancing to the rhythms of the heart

7. Vienna Foxtrot

8. In her garden

9. Retro Attitude Café*

10. Will be

11. Nocturne naive



Melodic Net Comments