Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?

: 0
Check updates ››

Anberlin - Vital

Reviewer :
Johan Wippsson Format: Album
Release date: 2012-10-16 Year: 2012
Label: Universal Records
Genre: Christian Rock
Producer: Aaron Sprinkle
Artist discography


If you like: Switchfoot, The Classic Crime, Mainstay

Anberlin has on their sixth studio album, gone back to work with producer Aaron Sprinkle. A good choice in my opinion because as he gave the band a personal touch on their first three albums. However, understand that the band wanted to try out new ideas as they worked with Neal Avron and Brendan O 'Brien on the following albums when they got signed to Universal. The result, however, made them more mainstream and less unique although both albums holds high class.
"Transit", then, shows a slightly new sound from the band with a more keyboard-dominated touch than before. However, the band has kept the energy that characterizes their sound and overall it’s an album that shows that the band is in the right direction.
Does not that song material is perfect as there are a handful of standard track, but "Transit" is a very solid release worth checking out of course.

Highlights: "Other Side", "Self-Starter", "Someone Anone"

Tracklisting 1. Self-Starter
2. Little Tyrants
3. Other Side
4. Someone Anyone
5. Intentions
6. Innocent
7. Desires
8. Type Three
9. Orpheum
10. Modern Age
11. God, Drugs & Sex


Melodic Net Comments 

Agree, cool album and of their best!
2012-11-04 09:58:12

listen on spotify

Did you know that?

Anberlin band member Stephen Christian has offered the explanations that he planned naming his first daughter Anberlin and that the name was a modification of the phrase "and Berlin" from a list of cities Christian wanted to visit. The one story that Christian asserts is true, however, is that he heard the word in the background noise of the Radiohead song "Everything in Its Right Place".

latest reviews

popular reviews 

review comments 

44 ForthAngel - In the end
43 Constantine Maroulis - Constantine
41 ForthAngel - Silver Bullets EP
38 The Perfects - Future automatic
37 Tribal Ink - Surrounded by freaks
34 Pillar - The Reckoning
33 Breaking Benjamin - Phobia
33 Europe - Secret Society
32 Evanescence - The Open Door
27 Karnivool - Sound Awake