Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Skillet - Rise

Reviewer :
Johan Wippsson Format: Album
Release date: 2013-06-25 Year: 2013
Label: Atlantic Records
Genre: Christian Rock
Producer: Howard Benson
Artist discography


Skillet has with their now eight albums become one of the biggest bands on the Christian rock scene. However, it took five albums to get the big breakthrough and this with the album Collide. After that, we now have received three strong albums where the band moved away from their industrial roots to a much more commercial and accessible style.
This new album, Rise is no exception and offers once again magnificent rock with beautiful arrangements, packed in an arena format. It does not take many seconds to recognize them in the opening and title track, which I think is a strength of the band. Was a little afraid that the band would be a bit too predictable on this new album after the two very nice albums Comatose and Awake. But the band has written a very good collection of tracks where there is six or seven clear single track. Personal I like when the band gets a little heavier as in "Not Gonna Die", "Circus For A Pshycho" and "Madness In Me", but also the softer "American Noise" is worth mentioning.
Overall a very stable release that I’m pretty sure that most fans will receive in a positive way!

Tracklisting 1. Rise
2. Sick Of It
3. Good To Be Alive
4. Not Gonna Die
5. Circus For A Psycho
6. American Noise
7. Madness In Me
8. Salvation
9. Fire And Fury
10. My Religion
11. Hard To Find
12. What I Believe
13. Battle Cry - Bonus Track
14. Everything Goes Black - Bonus Track
15. Freakshow - Bonus Track


Melodic Net Comments 

listen on spotify