Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Bruce Roberts - Cool fool

Added by :
Ola Gränshagen Format: Album
Year: 1980
Label: Elektra
Genre: Westcoast
Producer: David Malloy
Artist discography


Among a large number of westcoast pop albums that come close to being classics, we find BRUCE ROBERTS “Cool fool”. Released back in 1980 in Elektra it is somewhat hidden in the masses of other great westcoast released, however it really has a number of songs of high class.

Bruce must be considered as more of a songwriter than an artist himselft, even though he has released three solo albums so far (in 1977, 1980 and 1995). A nice thing is that the lead vocal of Bruce sounds a lot like STEVE KIPNER at times, like in the nice ballad “With all of my love, with all of my heart” (by Bruce Roberts and Allee Willis). Even the song “The guys you dance with” (a little more tempo here) could have been on the “Knock the walls down” album by the mentioned Kipner. Some of the harmony vocals are actually sung in the same smashing way that Kipner & co managed to deliver. The slightly soul and disco flavoured “The guys you dance with” is a favourite, with lots of AIRPLAY over it!

Musicians then? Well, like always during this period of time there are a bunch of top guys involved, like: NEIL STUBENHAUS (bass), PAULINHO DACOSTA (perc), GARY HERBIG (sax), DAVID FOSTER (keys), LEE SKLAR (bass), SNUFFY WALDEN (guitar) and so on. Like I said, this is not a classic but absolkutely an album any westcoast fan needs to have.


Melodic Net Comments