Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Jane's Addiction - Strays

Kaj Roth Format: Album
Year: 2003
Label: Capitol Records
Genre: Hard Rock
Producer: Bob Ezrin
Artist discography


"-I?m not your average guy!",sings Perry Farrell on the track "Superhero" and that?s no understatement, the lead singer of this psychedelic ride of rock is not average in any way.

The first studio album over a decade is now a fact,this time on their 3rd album they have worked with legendary producer Bob Ezrin who also cowrote all the songs and the sound is really amazing. Axeman Dave Navarro plays some rattling guitars and the good thing is that Janes Addiction has their own personal sound even though it?s plain hard rock at the bottom,I have always had a hard time liking Farrell?s voice because it feels a bit art?y,he?s from the same bench as Devin Townsend in the school of crazies but his strength is his melodies that is a charm to hear.

Since the band split up in 91,Perry Farrell started Porno For Pyros with drummer Stephen Perkins and Dave Navarro joined Red Hot Chilipeppers in 93 but was replaced by original guitarist John Frusciante in 99,singer Farrell and Dave has both released solo albums the same year of 2001 but in the middle of last year it was time for a reunion of Janes Addiction but without their original bassist Eric Avery who refused to participate and was replaced by Chad Chaney(Tommy Lee,Alanis)for the studio sessions of "Strays".

Since it was Farrell who designed a started the rock festival Lollapalooza back in the early 90?s it?s time to kick it alive again with the newborn Janes Addiction, I?m no fan of their music and don?t love this new record either but it?s okay and it will most likely appeal to their old fans.

The opening track "True nature" is their best song up to date with some major riffing time and as I said,Ezrin?s production is worth an applause!

Tracklisting 1. True Nature
2. Strays
3. Just Because
4. Price I Pay
5. The Riches
6. Superhero
7. Wrong Girl
8. Everybody's Friend
9. Suffer Some
10. Hypersonic
11. To Match The Sun


Melodic Net Comments 

listen on spotify