Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Muse - Absolution

Kaj Roth Format: Album
Year: 2003
Label: Mushroom
Genre: Alternative Rock
Producer: Matt Bellamy
Artist discography


English trio Muse third album "Absolution" is like having a trip to the amusement park with carousels,roller coaster rides and videogames,all in all-a helluva good time with 100% sheer fun.
Guitarist/vocalist Matthew Bellamy, bassist Chris Wolstenhome and drummer Dominic Howard plays what they feel like doing for the moment and you could say that they have been influenced by Radiohead but Muse are better on every point,when Thom Yorke of Radiohead gets experimental and peculiar-Muse goes more stable.
On their last album "Origin of symmetry" they were pretty successful and mixed alternative pop with progressive rock in
a charming way but also with a very personal sound.

If Freddy Mercury would still be alive and made an album together with Damon Albarn from Blur,the result could very well be this new album titled "Absolution",there are lots of guitars here and there so Muse rocks really good but never loses their
sense of genius melodies that are delivered in progressive arrangements.
You have probably seen the new video of "Time is running out" with the cool bassline and the stick like glue refrain,that song is the most straight labeled on the record.
Get more impulsive with the high rocking "Stockholm syndrome" and feel the energetic pulse of the rhythm section,or
why not play some lovely air keyboards because I feel like a 21 st century Mozart listening to this fantastic tune that I hold as one of the best songs so far this year of 2003.
The opening track "Apocalypse please" should be enough to get you interested if you want something extra in your rock and roll life.....marvellous Queen epic stuff it is.
I take off my hat and bow to these eminent boys that knows how to aMUSE me.

Tracklisting 1. Intro
2. Apocalypse Please
3. Time Is Running Out
4. Sing For Absolution
5. Stockholm Syndrome
6. Falling Away With You
7. Interlude
8. Hysteria
9. Blackout
10. Butterflies and Hurricanes
11. The Small Print
12. Endlessly
13. Thoughts Of A Dying Atheist
14. Ruled By Secrecy
15. Fury


Melodic Net Comments 

listen on spotify