Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Tears For Fears - Everybody Loves A Happy Ending

Reviewer :
Kaj Roth Format: Album
Release date: 2010-11-08 Year: 2010
Label: Arista
Genre: Pop
Producer: Roland Orzabal/Curt Smith
Artist discography


There are many cases with former bandmates that depart as bitter enemies and doesn?t speak to eachother for many years just to make amends for a reunion later on,Eagles- "Till Hell freezes over" is such an example of an album noone ever believed would be recorded or take the comeback of VanHalen with Sammy Hagar that seems to be the real thing this year.......from what I know they hated eachother but to be fools for a lifetime won?t make anyone happy!
The megaselling English Pop duo Tears For Fears had a huge success with their first 3 albums between 83-89,then Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith started to quarrel- with having Smith leaving the band in 92 so Orzabal released the fantastic album "Elemental" by himself in 93 under Tears For Fears and also the superb "Raoul and the Kings of Spain" in 95 before drawing the curtain down for TFF.
Roland did the solo album "Tomcats screaming outside" in 2001 and on the other side his former bandmate Curt Smith also did the 2 solo albums "Soul on board" in 93 and "Aeroplane" from 2000 but he didn?t get the same success as Orzabal did with his all alone TFF.
So after 15 years since the last blockbuster album "Seeds of love" (89),these two old enemies shook hands and became friends once again to many of their fans joy.....including me!
EVERYBODY LOVES A HAPPY ENDING is the perfect title for a new TFF record,this is truly a happy ending and the sound is so familiar with the big orchestral sounding pop these 2 guys are experts of making.
They are indeed lucky these days because their old hit "Mad world" is once again a huge hit in Europe with a new talented singer/songwriter called Gary Jules that has done a cool version.
How many of you out there hasn?t sung along to TFF songs like "Shout","Everybody wants to rule the world" and "Sowing the seeds of love"?!,Orzabal and Smith writes intelligent popmusic with something extra spiced over it and it?s the same thing with the new and much antipicated album.
The first single "Closest thing to heaven" is a laid back story that takes a few rounds before it gets in the head but it feels quite good now hearing it,however that is the case with the whole album-it is very soft and dreamlike and 60?s sounding with some major Beatles influences here and there.
Let it grow on you and have it spinning for a week or two before judging it and you will see that ELAHE will be one of your favorite cd?s this year.
It has slowly become a true friend of mine with grandios songs like "Ladybird","Who you are","Call me mellow" and title track "ELAHE".......welcome back TFF-why don?t you stay around for another 10 years?!

Tracklisting 1. Everybody Loves a Happy Ending
2. Closest Thing to Heaven
3. Call Me Mellow
4. Sizes of Sorrow
5. Who Killed Tangerine
6. Quiet Ones
7. Who You Are
8. The Devil
9. Secret World - Extended Version
10. Killing With Kindness
11. Ladybird
12. Last Days on Earth
13. Pullin' a Cloud
14. Out of Control
1. Closest Thing to Heaven - UK Radio Mix
2. Closest Thing to Heaven - Brothers In Rythm Group Therapy Remix
3. Closest Thing to Heaven - Solasso Club Mix
4. Closest Thing to Heaven - Brothers In Rythm Group Therapy Dub
5. Closest Thing to Heaven - Solasso Dub


Melodic Net Comments 

listen on spotify