Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Pretty Maids - Wake up to the real world

Reviewer :
Juha Harjula Format: Album
Year: 2006
Label: Frontiers Records
Genre: Hard Rock
Artist discography


After 4 years of silence, the Danish melodic rocker Pretty Maids returns with a brand new album. Their last album Planet Panic (2002) was in my opinion a disappointment which didn?t have the right energy, melodies and most important - the hookladen songs was gone.
So now 4 years later they?re back with a new rockin? album and the former Royal Hunt drummer Allan Tsichaja as a new member, you can hear right away from the first track "Wake Up The Real World" that the Maids has found their way back to their classic sound with powerful melodic guitars mixed with hookladen songs that grabs a hold of you.
They have found the right mixture of heavy hardrock songs mixed with ballads and more AORish songs, just they way we expect and want from these Danish rockers.

Ronnie Atkins sings as good as always and Ken Hammer has got plenty of room with his melodic riffs. There is stuff for both fans of hardrock and tougher AOR on this album.
Just check out the AORish "Such A Rush" with pompish and wonderful keyboards and powerful background vocals in the chorus that is huge.
The song of the album is the pure AOR smasher "Another Shot Of You Love", this is a sheer winner with stunning keyboards and fantastic hooklines with a chorus that goes all the way and just listen to the guitarsolo, phew it?s hot in here.
This is one of the best songs I have heard from this band for a long time because this is freaking outstanding.

Off the more heavy songs I must lift up "Brave Young New Bree"d and the title track that are great songs.
"Where Beauty Lies" is a strong ballad too. It?s great to have Pretty Maids back and they have recorded a very good album in true Pretty Maids spirit. Those that thought "Planet Panic" was a let down can without hesitation check out this new album. Pretty Maids are definitely back to rock like we?re used to hear them.

Tracklisting 1. Wake Up To The Real World
2. All In The Name Of Love
3. I Am The End
4. As Guilty As You
5. Why Die For A Lie
6. Such A Rush
7. Where Beauty Lies
8. Brave Young Breed
9. Terminal Violence
10. Perfect Stranger
11. Another Shot Of Your Love


Melodic Net Comments 

Sweet Irma
Pure Heavy Metal

listen on spotify