Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Reel Big Fish - Monkeys For NOTHIN and the Chimps for FREE

Reviewer :
Tom Spinelli Format: Album
Year: 2007
Label: Rock Ridge Music
Genre: Pop Punk
Producer: Aaron Barrett
Artist discography


Recently splitting from a major label JIVE Records, in hopes to bring out more of a creative freedom, Reel Big Fish have signed with Rock Ridge Music with their release "Monkeys For NOTHIN and the Chimps for FREE."

Well This album is pretty much everything a Reel Big Fish album should be. 17 tracks of tight horn sections over the punk riffs with melodic fun hooks. The album opens with, “Party Down”, which is a weird title for the whole outlook of the band. But who really knows with the constant sarcasm from the band.

The band is Aaron Barrett: Lead vocals, Lead Guitar - John Christianson: Lead Solo Trumpet, Gang Vocals - Scott Kloppenstein: Lead Harmonious Vocals, Trumpet - Dan Regan: Lead Solo Trombone, Footstomps - Ryland Steen: Drums, and Matt Wong: Bass.
Additional personnel duties are handled by: David Irish (vocals); Brian Klemm (guitar); Kiersten Stevens (whistle); Jon Kubis (accordion); Molly Barrett (unknown instrument).

Its good to see this group still out there doing what they love. With the longevity of bands you see now days you never know how long you have to keep putting music out. I´m glad to see that this band has found its ways to provide the best music possible for their fans and still love what they are doing. They are one of the most entertaining, energetic and skilled ska punk bands currently playing to go out there and have a good time.

You also get a DVD with this one!

Tracklisting 1. Party Down
2. Another F.U. Song
3. Live Your Dream
4. My Imaginary Friend
5. Slow Down
6. The New Version Of You
7. Will The Revolution Come
8. Another Day In Paradise
9. Everybody's Drunk
10. Please Don't Tell Her I Have A Girlfriend
11. Way Back
12. Hate You
13. Call You
14. Why Do All Girls Think They're Fat
15. I'm Her Man
16. Til I Hit The Ground
17. Cannibal


Melodic Net Comments 

listen on spotify