Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


The Devil Wears Prada - 8:18

Reviewer :
Henrik Holmgren Format: Album
Release date: 2013-09-11 Year: 2013
Label: Roadrunner Records
Genre: Metal
Producer: Adam Dutkiewicz
Artist discography


The Devil Wears Prada returns! No not the movie, the metal band and this is their fifth album. They offer us an album consisting of 11 down tuned, riff-filled metal songs in the vein of Adept, Miss May I, Bring Me the Horizon and Parkway Drive.  I guess you know the formula by now, screaming/growling with bits of melodic choruses. But hey, why change a winning formula? On this album they got production help from none other than Adam Dutkiewicz from Killswitch Engage so that insures a good quality production.
8:18 starts off with the decent Gloom which is followed by Rumors. That song has one of the coolest metal intros so far this year, with guitars pulling of some nice riffing, overall a very nice song. First Sight is third out followed by the softer War which for the most part sung and not screamed. The album continues mostly in the heavy vein and first single Martyrs follow the same pattern. The exception is Care More with an almost industrial vibe. Black and Blue is another song that I like.
Some of the songs are really good, while, at least for me, some are a little too forgettable and a bit generic.  So the grade from me cannot be more than good. Not saying that this is bad in anyway. I think that if you like their previous work you will soak this up as well, although it is a bit different than previous albums. Good metalcore from a fairly consistent band.

Tracklisting 01 – Gloom
02 – Rumors*
03 – First Sight
04 – War
05 – 818
06 – Sailor’s Prayer
07 – Care More
08 – Martyrs*
09 – Black & Blue*
10 – Transgress
11 – Number Eleven
12 – Home for Grave
13 – In Heart



Melodic Net Comments 

listen on spotify