Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Anberlin - New Surrender

Kaj Roth Format: Album
Year: 2008
Label: Universal Records
Genre: Christian Rock
Producer: Neal Avron
Artist discography


I think the change from Tooth and Nail to Universal and from producer Aaron Sprinkle who produced Anberlin´s first 3 albums to Neal Avron on the new album is only for the better for this popular band.
I really like Tooth and Nail as a record label and Aaron Sprinkle is a fantastic producer but this band was going in one direction where you got the same record over and over again.
You can still recognize their sound on "New surrender" but this time it´s more new wave sounding towards The Killers, I don´t get the idea of re-recording "The feel good drag" from their 2005 album "Never take friendship personal" because it was already great back then.

The pre-order of this new album comes with a USB device containing an alternative version of the new song "Breaking" which is one of the highlights on "New surrender", plus remixes of 3 old songs.
Fans of Anberlin can´t complain because in 4 years, Tooth and Nail has released 3 studio albums and the compilation "Lost songs" featuring b-sides, unreleased songs, covers and bonus tracks.
This is without doubt an album band, they have a loyal fan base that buys their albums but their singles fail to gain any success on the charts.
Christian McAlhaney (ex.Acceptance) replaced Nathan Strayer on guitar for the new album and I think he´s a perfect addition for the band even though there are more synthesizers in the 2008 version of Anberlin.

"Blame me, blame me" is a contender for the next single, lots of hit potential there but my favorite is the opening track "the resistance" - that one will be a fan fave on future shows be so sure.
I´m glad to announce that the new album deliver a set of mighty fine songs.

Tracklisting 1. The Resistance
2. Breaking
3. Blame Me! Blame Me!
4. Retrace
5. Feel Good Drag
6. Disappear
7. Breathe
8. Burn Out Brighter (Northern Lights)
9. Younglife
10. Haight St
11. Soft Skeletons
12. miserabile visu {ex malo bonum}


Melodic Net Comments 

What a shame, its so tragic to see such waste of talent.

listen on spotify