Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Blackfield - IV

Reviewer :
Dominiek Cnudde Format: Album
Release date: 2013-08-27 Year: 2013
Label: Kscope
Genre: Prog-Rock/Art Rock
Producer: Aviv Geffen
Artist discography


For those who do not know Blackfield, it is the collaboration between the well respected Israeli musician Aviv Geffen and prog-rock God Steven Wilson.

This Steven Wison side-project started in 2004 with the album 'Blackfield I". So now Blackfield released their fourth album under the creative title: 'Blackfield IV'. Although this album is out on the Kscope label it is not really a progressive rock release. So don't let that scare you off! For those who like a cross-over between indie rock, progressive rock and melodic rock this might be your thing!

During the years Steven Wilson had a lot of success with Porcupine Tree and recently with his own solo-career, so Wilson's involvement in this new record is less than before. He only sings lead-vocals on one song called "Jupiter", which is one of my favorites on this album.

All songs are written by Aviv Geffen and there are a few surprises with some very nice vocal guest appearances from Brett Anderson of Suede ("Firefly") and Jonathan Donahue of Mercury Rev ("The Only Fool Is Me"). "X-Ray", sung by Vincent Cavanagh from Anathema is by far the best song on this album, but it is way too short with it's 2:36. In fact all the songs are very short and the whole album only last for 30 minutes. It seems that mister Aviv Geffen don't really like long songs.

The Blackfield magic is still there in some songs but this album sounds more like a Aviv Geffen solo record. For those who love dramatic, melodic and rich orchestrated pop-songs, you should give this album a try. I'm not a big fan of every song on the album and this is certainly not Blackfield's best work. With only 30 minutes of new music this release is also way too short....

Only 3.5 stars is hard to give for a big Blackfield/Steven Wilson fan like me...but it is a fair judgment.


Tracklisting 1. Pills
2. Springtime
3. X-Ray (feat. Vincent Cavanagh)
4. Sense of Insanity
5. Firefly (feat. Brett Anderson)
6. The Only Fool Is Me (feat. Jonathan Donahue)
7. Jupiter
8. Kissed By the Devil
9. Lost Souls
10. Faking
11. After the Rain


Melodic Net Comments 

listen on spotify