Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


The Comas - Spells

Tom Spinelli Format: Album
Year: 2007
Label: Vagrant Records
Genre: Indie Rock
Producer: Bill Racine
Artist discography


The Comas are a New York-based rock band originally formed by Andy Herod and Nicole Gehweiler in 1998 in Chapel Hill, NC. Currently comprised of Herod, Gehweiler (guitars, vox), Matt Sumrow (piano, organ, vox), Jason Caperton (bass) and Nic Gonzales (drums), the band has developed its most dynamic and compelling sound to date, and in the last few years have shared the stage with such acts as The Breeders, Sparklehorse, Mando Diao, Dashboard Confessional, and Vietnam.

The Comas’ unique brand of psychedelic garage pop has been highly regarded by critics and fans most notably for their sci-fi love songs intermixed with floating synths and guitar fuzz as found on 2004’s extremely well received Conductor. This album offers a unique indie rock style. Actually, the first song I ever heard was the remix version of the opening track "Red Microphones." I actually am a bigger fan of the remix which should have been on the album. It offers a more laid back almost "Last Days of April" feel to the song. The rest of the album also delivers with indie rock styles and great musicianship.

"Spells" is their first album from the label Vagrant Records. The Comas offer up a dynamic set of songs that flow with inventiveness and radiant energy. The band delivers edgy, guitar-driven tunes that make unpredictable turns and sometimes feature unexpected keyboard lines as featured in the track "Come My Sunshine." Even though rheir restless rock sound is difficult to categorize, this album is one of ´07´s most notable indie-rock surprises. Stand out tracks include "Red Microphones" which you can also download the remix version free on their website . Others include "Now I´m A Spider", "Light The Pad" and "After The Afterglow."

Tracklisting 1. Red Microphones
2. Hannah T.
3. Now I'm A Spider
4. Come My Sunshine
5. Stoneded
6. Light The Pad
7. Sarah T.
8. Thistledown
9. New Wolf
10. After The Afterglow


Melodic Net Comments 

listen on spotify