Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Thursday - Kill The Houselights

Tom Spinelli Format: Advance album
Year: 2007
Label: Victory Records
Genre: Post Hardcore
Producer: Sal Villanueva
Artist discography


Thursday is back with the help of their longtime friends Victory records with the release of their LIVE CD/DVD entitled "Kill The Houselights." An exceptional buy and a true depiction of this group of many years that have spawned a new generation of music to the bands that followed.

The first single, "Ladies and Gentlemen; My Brother, the Failure" from the upcoming Victory Records release, consists of a full length feature DVD and a full length Album. The DVD tells Thursday´s 10 year career story from the beginning to the present. It also contains interviews with the band and their team, archived show and behind the scenes footage spanning the band´s career to date and hints to the band´s future. The DVD delivers enhanced menus, a "Making of the Song" and "The Making of Full Collapse" featurettes, the original version of "How Long Is The Night" with visuals, an audio-enhanced photo gallery, laminate gallery and more. The CD contains three, brand new and unreleased songs along with a collection of live tracks and b-sides.

Even the band´s long time manager Dave "Rev" Ciancio had the following to say, "February 9th, 2001 - A date that changed my life. It was the first time I ever saw Thursday perform live. I had never seen anything like it. Raw, intense, sincere, driven rock music rooted deep in hardcore but with progressive song structures and melodies. I couldn´t believe what I was seeing and hearing. I grabbed the band as they walked off stage and begged them to let me and my company, The Syndicate, professionally manage their career. Thankfully, they did take the meeting and I learned what an intelligent, passionate and innovative group of guys were behind the music. It´s been six some years since then and a lot of crazy things have happened. And now - three labels, two publishers, several world tours and three records later - the guys are going back to Victory Records. I thought it would never happen but to be honest, Tony and the Victory staff have proven time and time again that they care about music; They are more concerned with what the fan wants and less concerned about the bottom line or the constraints of the modern day music business. I speak for everyone at The Syndicate when I say we are honored to be working with the band and excited about working again with Victory on this DVD/CD."

That pretty much sums it all up. I have seen the band in concert and its pretty awesome to see it all captured on DVD. You get the true raw, intensity of the band as you would get in their concert. The sweat, angst, screamo power of singer Jeff Rickley and the gang really gives their fans the ultimate package a band could give. I wish more bands would do this, release a whole bunch of footage and features like this release. Let me tell you this would save the music industry. If you a Thursday fan this package has it all. Anything you want from a band is included in this feature. A Very good buy and more bands should jump on this bandwagon and give the fans what they deserve buy supporting the band for years. Thursday definitely delivers on this and shows that they still have it after all these years.

Tracklisting DVD
1. Live from Starland Ballroom, Music: "Otherside of the Crash" (in reverse)
2. "At This Velocity" - Live at Starland Ballroom
3. "This Side of Brightness" audio clip of early Demo
4. "The Other Side of the Crash" Live at Starland Ballroom
5. "Mass As Shadows" Early Demo
6. "Streaks In the Sky" Live in Geoffs Basement
7. "Porcelain" Live
8. "Paris In Flames" Live at Starland Ballroom
9. "In Transmission" Live
10. "Ian Curtis" Live at the Melody Bar
11. "Autobiography of a Nation" Live at Starland Ballroom
12. "Steps Ascending" Live in Detroit
13. "Understanding In a Car Crash" Clips from the original music video
14. "How Long is The Night" audio clip of original Intro
15. "Understanding In A Car Crash" Live at Starland Ballroom
16. "I Am The Killer" Instrumental into live footage at Warped Tour
17. "How Long Is The Night" Live at the Warsaw
18. "Cross Out The Eyes" Instrumental Mix
19. "Division Street" Live in Detroit
20. "Roar of Far Off Black Jets" audio clip
21. **From "Marches And Maneuvers"
22. "For The Workforce, Drowning" MUSIC VIDEO clip
23. "Sugar In The Sacrament" Live at Starland Ballroom
24. "Music From Kill The House Lights"
25. "Blinding Light" Video Clip from Taste of Chaos in Australia
26. "Skate And Surf Video Short"
27. "I1100" Instrumental Mix

1. Ladies and Gentlemen: My Brother, the Failure
2. Dead Songs
3. Voices On A String
4. Signals Over the Air - Live at Starland Ballroom Ballroom
5. How Long is the Night (Original Intro)
6. A Sketch for Times Arrow
7. Panic On the Streets of Health Care City
8. The Roar of Far Off Black Jets
9. Paris In Flames (Demo)
10. Telegraph Avenue Kiss (Rich Costey Mix)
11. Wind-Up (Demo)
12. Music From Kill The House Lights (Demo)



Melodic Net Comments