Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Faster Pussycat - Faster Pussycat

Reviewer :
Johan Wippsson Format: Album
Release date: 2013-08-21 Year: 1987
Label: Rock Candy Records
Genre: Sleaze
Producer: Ric Browde
Artist discography


Sunset Strip in Los Angeles is more or less symbolic for the sleaze / glam wave that swept over the world in the 80s. Bands like Motely Crue, Ratt,  Poison , and LA Guns to mention a few achieved great success and created a genre that even these days has a large fan following.
Yet another band to add to the list is Faster Pussycat, formed in Los Angeles in 1986 by singer and front-man Taime Downe. The band managed to build a cult following when putting out two videos of the songs "Bathroom Wall" and "Do not Change That Song". Both are taken from this debut that was released in 1987 on Elektra and produced by Ric Browde, the man behind Poison's multi-platinum debut album, Look What the Cat Dragged In.
Although the band achieved even greater success with the subsequent Wake Me When It 's Over, I think this debut is more charming and authentic. The band's straightforward style filled with punk, glam rock and a dose of rock 'n roll shows the best from the Sunset Strip era and does not get more “real” than this. Tracks like "Bathroom Wall,"  "Cathouse," and "Don’t Change That Song" is crazy good with their simple and straightforward melodies. "No Room For Emotion" where the band flirts with classic bands like Rolling Stones and Aerosmith is another gem worth mention on this essential debut.
90's were not as much fun for the band as they broke up and went into various and pretty boring projects. No, it's the first two albums you should listen to when it comes to Faster Pussycat. Ok the third one is cool too, but this debut is iconic and belongs to the top of the albums that were released during the Golden years of the Sleaze rock.
The album has been released in several versions, but this edition from Rock Candy Records is the one to have. As always, you get a Special Deluxe Collector's Edition, fully remastered sound shaped from 24 BIT digital technology. You also get a 16-page full color booklet, 3,500 word essay, enhanced artwork and rare photos. Classic stuff!

Tracklisting 1. Don't Change That Song
2. Bathroom Wall
3. No Room for Emotion
4. Cathouse
5. Babylon
6. Smash Alley
7. Shooting You Down
8. City Has No Heart
9. Ship Rolls In
10. Bottle In Front of Me


Melodic Net Comments 

listen on spotify