Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Porcupine Tree - Nil Recurring - EP

Reviewer :
Kaj Roth Format: Ep
Release date: 2008-02-11 Year: 2008
Label: Peaceville
Genre: Prog-Rock/Art Rock
Artist discography


Steven Wilson of veteran progressive rock act Porcupine Tree is a busy man, not only did the band put out 2 releases in 2007 but he has also released Blackfield II and did a guest appearance on Jordan Rudess new solo album - all in the same year.
"Nil Recurring" are songs written during the Fear of a Blank Planet sessions but didnĀ“t fit the overall feel of that album so the band kept them for this EP.
These 4 songs are completely new recordings and not to be taken as outtakes or leftovers even if the production goes in the same style as the last album.
This EP was only available at shows at first but is now also available as Japan Import, the title track is a heavy instrumental with jazzrock tendencies and King Crimson vibes while the following "Normal" sounds like part 2 of "Sentimental" from FoaBP.
3rd track "Cheating the polygraph" is more mellow but with a suggestive and riff driven chorus, this one grows for sure.
The 8 minute long closing track "What happens now" is darker and the weakest song of these 4, there are moments in this song when I would like to describe it as Filter going progressive with a touch of electronica.
I prefer the full length release of FoaBP before this one.

Tracklisting 1. Nil Recurring
2. Normal
3. Cheating the Polygraph
4. What Happens Now?


Melodic Net Comments 

listen on spotify