Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?

: 0
Check updates ››
The Rasmus - Black Roses

The Rasmus - Black Roses

Reviewer :
Kaj Roth Format: Album
Year: 2008
Label: Universal Records
Genre: Modern Rock
Producer: Desmond Child / Harry Sommerdal
Artist discography


After the two successful albums "Dead letters" and "Hide from the sun", The Rasmus change direction on their new album "Black roses".
The previous 2 albums sounded like twin sisters if you ask me, so I am glad they decided on developing their sound into a more symphonic modern rock affair.
And add a touch of the 80´s (but not much) into this album and you´ve got yourself "Black roses", the collaboration with producer / hitmaker Desmond Child was only for the best and an injection the band needed.
The new single "Living in a world without you" will conquer the airwaves just as much as their previous hits - believe me, and fans of their earlier albums will be pleased to hear traditional The Rasmus songs like "Live forever" and "You got it wrong".

But I want to focus on other songs like the huge and bombastic movie-esque "Run to you" (the outro is fantastic) and "Lost and lonely" (probably their most symphonic song so far).
And what about "The fight" that will be even heavier live, this one should only be played loud.
I am pretty certain Desmond Child is the man behind the idea of using a mouthbox on "Ghost of love", remember Bon Jovi´s "Living on a prayer"?
I can´t make up my mind if their 2001 album "Into" or this new album is their best one.
They´re equally good.

Tracklisting 1. Livin' In A World Without You
2. Ten Black Roses
3. Ghost Of Love
4. Justify
5. Your Forgiveness
6. Run To You
7. You Got It Wrong
8. Lost And Lonely
9. The Fight
10. Dangerous Kind
11. Live Forever


Melodic Net Comments 

listen on spotify

Did you know that?

IT is rumored that Vocalist/bassist Tyson Jay Ritter was born April 24, 1984 at a Van Halen concert, and after he came out, he was wrapped in a t-shirt for the band.

latest reviews

popular reviews 

review comments 

44 ForthAngel - In the end
43 Constantine Maroulis - Constantine
41 ForthAngel - Silver Bullets EP
38 The Perfects - Future automatic
37 Tribal Ink - Surrounded by freaks
34 Pillar - The Reckoning
33 Europe - Secret Society
33 Breaking Benjamin - Phobia
32 Evanescence - The Open Door
27 Karnivool - Sound Awake