Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Lisa Ljungberg - Seven seas

Reviewer :
Ola Gränshagen Format: Album
Year: 2012
Genre: Pop
Producer: Leif Larsson
Artist discography


Here’s a pop/soul album with Swedish girl LISA LJUNGBERG. It’s pretty hard to classify stylewise, since we find elements of pop, soul, r’n’b, jazz and even the occasional westcoast spice in a song or two.

The slightly r’n’b touched “Don’t you wanna know” could have been on any album by LOUISE HOFFSTEN from the 90’s and onwards. Lisa really proves she’s got a strong voice in the semi-ballad “Seven seas”, where you also hear a fine example of how solid the musicians are on this album. The variation is quite wide on this CD; you have the occasional country tinged country rocker, like “Rockin’ to my rhythm” in quite a fast 2/4 beat. “Walk alone” is a song that makes you happy; rather soft melodic rock in the vein of AMANDA JENSSEN. Very good stuff. Another song to prove the differences in styles here, is the soft jazzy song “When magic dies”. I think of the big band jazz albums by BOBBY CALDWELL as well as Swedish girl LISA LÖVBRAND here.

And you must know, the wide range of styles does not feel too diverse. Both Lisa and the band can handle the different styles and the production makes it all fit together. It’s a very nice production, too, even though I would have wanted it to be a little more “tough” at times.

Tracklisting 1. 2U

2. Don't you wanna know*

3. Seven seas*

4. Mr. Negative

5. Walk alone*

6. Air dance

7. When magic dies*

8. Rockin' to my rhythm

9. Where are we

10. Short stories



Melodic Net Comments 

listen on spotify