Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?

: 0
Check updates ››

Ghost (Norway) - The Engraving

Reviewer :
Juha Harjula Format: Album
Release date: 2010-12-31 Year: 2019
Label: Independent
Genre: Heavy Metal
Artist discography


Here we have Ghost that are from Norway so don’t confuse this with the Swedish band Ghost that also released their album Opus Eponymous this year. No, these Norwegians play Heavy Metal inspired by the 80s with twin guitars and has released a demo in 2005 and their EP Days Undercover that came out last year. This album contains 10 tracks and features a good vocalist in Kim Sandvik that has a powerful voice. The production is very good and tight. Soundwise they remind of Dio, Judas Priest and Norwegians own Ronnie James Dio/David Coverdale - JORN.

The songs are filled with nice melodies and the twin guitars delivers strong riffs. It’s a very even album and they may not have the standout tracks, but there are no fillers either. Surgery has a melodic chorus with nice harmonies. The Dio smelling Agent Down is a hard hitting Heavy Metal song. Alive is taken from the Judas Priest book and the riffs reminds so much of them. Independence Day is a mid-tempo song that brings Queensryche to mind, great song. The Engraving is a nice album filled with 80s Heavy Metal. A good full-length debut album.

Tracklisting 1. The Engraving
3. Surgery
4. Agent Down
5. Craving
6. Alive
7. Taking Lives
8. One Last Favor
9. Independence Day
10. Here I Am


Melodic Net Comments 

listen on spotify

Did you know that?

Before they were known as Journey with Steve Perry, the band was called Golden Gate Rhythm Section.

latest reviews

popular reviews 

review comments 

44 ForthAngel - In the end
43 Constantine Maroulis - Constantine
41 ForthAngel - Silver Bullets EP
38 The Perfects - Future automatic
37 Tribal Ink - Surrounded by freaks
34 Pillar - The Reckoning
33 Breaking Benjamin - Phobia
33 Europe - Secret Society
32 Evanescence - The Open Door
27 Karnivool - Sound Awake