Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Warrant - Rockaholic

Reviewer :
Juha Harjula Format: Album
Release date: 2011-05-17 Year: 2011
Label: Frontiers Records
Genre: Hard Rock
Producer: Keith Olsen
Artist discography


Warrants original members Erik Turner, Jerry Dixon, Joey Allen and Steve Sweet has released a brand new album and this time around it’s their long-time friend Robert Mason (Lynch Mob, Cry Of Love) behind the microphone. Last time we heard from Warrant was in 2006 when they stroke back with their comeback album Born Again with Black ´N Blue singer Jamie St. James which was a disappointment.

Their new album has been produced by the well-known Keith Olsen (Whitesnake, Scorpions) and mixed by Pat Regan (Kiss, Deep Purple) with a top-notch result. But the most important thing is missed on this new album and that’s hookladen songs with catchy choruses that Warrant spoiled us in the late 80s and early 90s. Soundwise this continues where Born Again left and Robert Mason shows what great singer he is, but when the lack of quality songs are missed I think it’s a shame. Also, the album is too long with 14 tracks and could have been shorted down. The album opens up promising with the rocker Sex Ain´t Love but this is more Tesla meets Ratt than Warrant in my opinion. Rest of the album goes in a similar style with acts such as Tesla, Ratt, Black ´N Blue and Lynch Mob in mind. Innocence Gone is the standout track of the album with strong riffs, melodies and a memorable chorus.

What Love Can Do is a nice mid-tempo rocker that reminds of Nelson. Ok, I don’t know what they thought when they wrote Cocaine Freight Train because this is a terrible song. If you wished that Warrant would go back to their classic sound to this album I can say that you can forget that. If you thought Born Again was a great album, then you will enjoy this as well. A better album than Born Again but far away from the classic albums.

Tracklisting 1. Sex Ain’t Love
2. Innocence Gone
3. Snake
4. Dusty’s Revenge
5. Home
6. What Love Can Do
7. Life’s A Song
8. Show Must Go On
9. Cocaine Freight Train
10. Found Forever
11. Candy Man
12. Sunshine
13. Tears In The City
14. The Last Straw


Melodic Net Comments 

Much better than I thought it would be. Read my full review here:
2011-05-25 11:51:16

listen on spotify